HONEY LIME SWEET POTATO TACOS!

This. Is. So. Good.

The first time I made this recipe was about 5 years ago and I instantly fell in love. Its delicious and on the healthier side, and super super easy to make. Over the years I’ve tweaked it a little bit, and I hardly ever use measurements, I just put in however much I want of whatever I want and it always turns out amazing. This is not my own recipe, but since I love it so much, and everyone I make it for loves it, I wanted to share! So here is what you’ll need-

IMG_1747

                                                 3 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed

IMG_1748

  • 1 cup of frozen corn, thawed.
  • 3 tbsp of lime juice
  • 1 onion diced (I only use half)
  • 2 cloves of minced garlic
  • olive oil
  • 1 can of black beans drained and rinsed
  • avocado and goat cheese for toppings!
  • 3 tbsp honey (not pictured)
  • and of course, tortillas.

and here are the spices you’ll need. I don’t measure these at all, I just do an even sprinkle of each one, except the cayenne pepper, I tend to go light on that. So just an even coating of ground cumin, paprika, ground coriander, and a light coating of cayenne pepper.

IMG_1749

 

First, preheat your over to 425 degrees, then peel and dice your sweet potatoes, and place them on a foil lined baking sheet. Drizzle some olive oil on top, sprinkle all the spices, as much or as little as you want and toss it all together. You can also add salt and pepper to taste. This is what my sweet potatoes looked like after these steps-

IMG_1750

Put them in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until tender.

While thats cooking, in a large skillet, heat 1 tbsp of olive oil on medium-high heat and add your diced onion. Cook the onions until they’re translucent and sweet! then add your minced garlic and cook about another minute. Turn the heat down to a low simmer and add the beans, corn, honey, and lime juice. Add salt and pepper to taste. Cook until everything is heated through and then remove the skillet from heat. Take your sweet potatoes out of the oven and mix them into the skillet.

IMG_1752

Next.. Bon Appetit! You can definitely add pico de gallo, or cilantro. I would have added cilantro but I forgot to get some at the store. I like adding goat cheese and avocado to mine. you guys.. THIS IS SO GOOD. The goat cheese makes it soo creamy, so you don’t need a sauce. If you make this, please let me know what you thought!

IMG_1753


Leave a Reply

